Welcome to the City of Encinitas News Center!

From here, you can keep up to date with all things Encinitas. Read our news feed by scrolling below, follow the city's social media pages, subscribe to city updates, and watch MyEncinitasTV - your local government access channel.

The MyEncinitas App is also available now on Google Play or the App store!

Download MyEncinitas today!



Citywide Naming Contest for New Park Underway

Encinitas, CA – The City of Encinitas Parks, Recreation and Cultural Arts Department is looking for the community’s input to name a new park. The City announced the naming campaign this week for the 3.1 acre Standard Pacific Park site located at the southeast corner of the intersection of Piraeus Street and Olympus Street in Leucadia.  The City has criteria for naming public places that includes:

  • Historical relevance
  • Geographic location
  • Geological features
  • Community identity
  • Significant financial contribution
  • Degree of community support

The City will be gathering names from the community via an online survey.

Visit the Standard Pacific Park site webpage at www.EncinitasCA.gov/StandardPacificParkSite between October 14 and November 1, 2019 and click on the park naming button. Once the City receives the name suggestions, staff will bring the recommendations to the Parks and Recreation Commission on November 19, who will then make a recommendation to City Council.

The future neighborhood park site’s amenities include: a zipline, walking paths, benches, picnic tables, a lower hillside playground, an adventure path upslope, a multi-use sports court, a bike/skate feature, shade structures, bike racks, and playground equipment. Construction of the new park is expected to begin sometime after January 1, 2020.



Located along six miles of Pacific Ocean coastline in northern San Diego County, Encinitas has an approximate population of 63,000 and is characterized by coastal beaches, cliffs, flat-topped coastal areas, steep mesa bluffs and rolling hills. The city was incorporated in 1986, drawing together the communities of New Encinitas, Old Encinitas, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Olivenhain and Leucadia.